UNDER DEVELOPMENT Your input is welcome

The Canadian Aboriginal Issues Database

Look further down. Keep Going!

Nunavut, Canada
significant events in the development of Canada's newest Territory

1867 to 1960

{search page} {1961 to 1970} {1971 to 1981} {1982 to 1985} {1986 to 1999}

Expanded version based on "Nunavut an annotated bibliography", by E. Simpson, L. Seale, R. Minion. Edmonton: Canadian Circumpolar Institute and University of Alberta Library.1994.

1867  Constitution Act (British North America Act, Section 91[24]) Responsibility of Federal Government for "Indians and land reserved for Indians."

1868  Crown acquires Rupert's and North Western Territory from Hudson's Bay Company. Both become part of Canadian Union by British Order-in-Council (Rupert's Land Act, 1868 [UK], 31 & 32 Vic. c.105).

1870 The Northwest Territories forms. [Temporary Government of Rupert's Land Act 1869, 1870 (Can), 32 & 33 Vic. c. 3].

1875 The Northwest Territories Act passes. Provides the basis for present constitutional and legislative status for the NWT. Fully Elected Assembly, 1881.

1876 First Indian Act consolidates under Federal control all previous legislation concerning Indians. The District of Keewatin is established.

1877 District of Keewatin reduces in size because of Manitoba's expansion.

1880 Arctic Islands control transfers to Canada from Great Britain. Department of Indian Affairs established.

1896 First Act for the preservation of Arctic Game in NWT.

1898 Yukon Territory Act establishes Yukon.

1899 Treaty 8 signed, affecting some areas of present NWT.

1905 July 2 The Alberta Act and the Saskatchewan Act. Provinces established on September 1, 1905 [Alberta Act, 1905 (Can), 4-5 Ed.. VIIc.3 and Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (Can), 4-5 Ed.. VIIc.42]

1905 Northwest Territories Act amended to provide for appointment of a Commissioner and Council of not more than four. It provides for the transfer of the seat of government to Ottawa.

1912 boundaries of Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec extended north.

1921 NWT Council enlarged to six members.

1921 Treaty 11 signed.

1922 (1930??) Indian Act changed to include administration of Inuit

1926 By Order -in-Council the 'Arctic Islands Game Preserve (AIGP)' was established encompassing the High Arctic Islands, northwestern Baffin Island and islands west to and including northeastern Banks Island and a small portion of the mainland to bolster Canada's claims to sovereignty.

1929 The boundaries of the 'Arctic Islands Game Preserve (AIGP)' expanded.

1942 The boundaries of the 'Arctic Islands Game Preserve (AIGP)' expanded to encompass all of the eastern Arctic with the exception of the southern Keewatin and some islands in Hudson Bay.

1951 The Northwest Territories Act amended allowing for the first selection of members to the Northwest Territories Council. The Council is enlarged to eight, three members to be elected from constituencies in the District of Mackenzie and at least one yearly session of the Council must be held in the Northwest Territories.

1951 "A new Indian Act was passed [1951 (Can.) , 15 Geo.lVI c.29] protecting Indian lands from alienation, and Indian property from depredation, as well as providing for a form of local government."

1959 the 'Nelson Commission' is appointed to investigate the unfulfilled provisions of Treaties 8 and 11.

1960 Aboriginal people are given the right to vote in federal elections.

1960 The MacKenzie District is created with administration from Fort Smith.

{search page} {1961 to 1970} {1971 to 1981} {1982 to 1985} {1986 to 1999}