Canada GenWeb


Russell county


This site was updated 1 April 2015.

Since 1997 this site has been maintained by David AGAR.

Visit Russell County Queries.

The townships of Russell county form part of the United Counties of Prescott and Russell. Through the years, the formation of Russell county has varied. Until recent decades, Russell county consisted of the following townships:

Russell township
Clarence township
Cambridge township
and Cumberland township

Cumberland township is now part of the City of Ottawa and part of the Ontario GenWeb site for Carleton county.


William Cameron Edwards 1844-1921
A leading lumber producer in the Ottawa valley, Edwards owned many mills in Rockland and Ottawa. As the member of parliament for Russell from 1887 to 1903, he vigorously promoted the interests of lumberers in provincial forestry policies.
Ontario Heritage Trust and the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada

City Directories

A 1916 city directory of greater Ottawa includes listings for Russell county beginning on page 442: Vernon's farmers' and business directory for the counties of Carleton, Dundas, Glengarry, Lanark, Prescott, Renfrew, Russell and Stormont.

Census Material

The relevant 1881 census material is maintained by the LDS.

The relevant 1851, 1871, 1901 and 1911 census material is maintained by Library and Archives Canada.

Library and Archives Canada (LAC) maintains a collection of tax assessments concerning Russell county from 1823 through 1850.

Russell County Cemetery Transcriptions
(published by the Ottawa Branch, Ontario Genealogical Society)

Most of the above cemeteries are included in The Ontario Cemetery Finding Aid.

The Canadian National Railways Station in Casselman is listed in Canada's historic places.

Marriage Directories

Parish Registers

Churches Not Mentioned Above

Russell township
Clarence township
Cambridge township




David AGAR's Home Page

David AGAR
Genealogy Research

Feel free to comment on any aspect of this site. Email to

Since 23 December 1999!